Channeling the Nerves into a Positive Energy

I think I’ve grown to dislike this art of communication because of an experience I had my junior year of high school in an extremely tough speech class I partook in. We were to write and perform a eulogy of someone we were very close to. I did mine on my boyfriend whom I had been dating for 2 years. Now his life-long best friend’s girlfriend happened to be in that small class, and as silly as it sounds, she began to cry in the front row as I was giving my speech and was speaking of his best friends’ and his relationship. So I, in turn, began to cry during the speech. I was absolutely mortified because I knew he was in the very next room, and very much alive.

I’ve never been much of public speaker. But funny thing is, I used to love it when I was younger. I loved the adrenaline and the nervousness right before going on stage. It’s quite similar to theatre and acting, which I have quite a bit of experience in. Since my junior year though, it hasn’t been my thing, and I’ve grown to dread oral communication, unfortunately.

I’m a sophomore here at UWSP, majoring in Psychology and Spanish. I knew that Communications 101 was a requirement and that it would be very helpful for me in my future classes and in my career as a Sports Psychologist, but I was still not looking forward to this class. Professor Woo has already helped me so much in this class in only four days. He has taught me that the nerves are a good thing and are able to be channeled into a positive and almost necessary energy in order to perform a good, solid speech. We learned in class on Wednesday, January 4th, many ways in which do this such as preparing well and taking deep breaths. I’m looking forward to the next week and a half and seeing how much I will improve and learn.

About bryannataylor

I am a cheerleader at UW-Stevens Point, WI. I am going to be a Sports Psychologist with the majors of Psychology and Spanish.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Channeling the Nerves into a Positive Energy

  1. ChangWooUWSP says:

    Thank you for sharing an interesting story. And, I do wish that you see yourself a better public speaker after this class. 🙂

Leave a Reply

