I Have Been Avoiding This Class For Over 3 Years

My name is Alyssa Plante and I am in my fourth year here at UWSP.  I am studying Business Administration with an emphasis in Marketing.  Ever since I was a freshman here at Point, I have been dreading the day when I had to sign up for Com 101.  I did everything I could to avoid it.  I put it off for three years, contemplated taking it online, and hoped that my advisor would overlook it.  After applying for graduation, there was only one thing standing between me and my soon to be marketing degree: public speaking.

I just finished my first week in this course and I can honestly say, it isn’t as bad as it sounds.  I am confident that I am not the only one in my class who is nervous to get up and speak in front of our peers.  What I have learned in discussions is that everyone is nervous and just because you feel nervous, it doesn’t mean that you look it.  This morning when I woke up, I had the dinosaurs in my stomach I could imagine, but as soon as I stepped foot into the classroom, both of my partners felt the same way, and as odd as it is, it was calming to me.

I am excited to improve my public speaking skills, and overcome this little fear of mine.  I enjoy talking to people, but put me in front of a class and it isn’t so easy for me.  After learning about ways to overcome the nerves, I have become more comfortable.  Before my first speech I practiced a lot and I think it really paid off.  After listening to all the speeches in my class, it eases my uneasy thoughts towards being perfect when in front of my peers.  Not everyone is perfect.  We are all in this together, and with the support from our groups, we can take what we learn and apply it to our future jobs.

About alyssaplante

I am a student at the University of Wisconsin Stevens Point. I am studying Business Administration with an emphasis in Marketing. I will graduate in May 2012 when I will begin my journey in the 'real world'.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Have Been Avoiding This Class For Over 3 Years

  1. ChangWooUWSP says:

    Having observed that you have a talent in public speaking, I am now wondering why you hesitated to take this class, Alyssa. Good story. 🙂

Leave a Reply

