This is more work than I remember…

Mauna Kea
Drunk from the altitude

I took a class called Communiction 101 about 20 years ago at UW- Milwaukee and I honestly don’t remember much from that class.  I have some hazy recollection of watching a video once but that’s about it.  One thing I am sure of , however, is that it was NOT oral communication.  This is more than I was expecting.  I was figuring this to be another quick GDR that I could get out of the way during the winterim, but noooooooo.  Since the first day of class I have had homework and reading every night!  Admittedly, I have learned a lot already through lecture and work shop with Dr. Woo so I shouldn’t complain.  The SPEAK principle, Smile – Posture – Eye Contact – Animation – Kinetics should come in very handy when I give my next speech.  (Hopefully, I will be relaxed enough to remember them!)  Knowing how the introduction of a speech gets the listeners’ attention, establishes credibility  and reveals the topic of the speech helps me to actually write my speeches because it’s like having a list I can check off as I go.  Finally, I hope to get one or two answers right on the midterm by knowing that Speaker, Message, Channel, Listener, Feedback, Situation and Interference are the seven elements of communication.  🙂  Overall, I know this class will be of great benefit to me and my career in the end.  Thank you, Dr. Woo!

This entry was posted in Speech for me and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to This is more work than I remember…

  1. ChangWooUWSP says:

    It is amazing if we think about GDR courses carefully. Those actually provide us lots of ingredients to be successful in many college classes as well as in any real world situations.

Leave a Reply

