A Saturday Night Church Service

Over the long weekend I attended church on Saturday night with my aunt and uncle on our way to a basketball game.  I had not attended a church service in a very long time, and this was not my aunt and uncles primary church so this was also a fresh experience for them.  We attended St. Patrick’s Parish in Whitewater, WI.  I have not practiced my faith in a very long time, my parents raised me catholic, I was baptized and went through my first communion but did not continue on from there and my parents have left my religion choice up to myself.  So Saturdays experience was very new to me and I was oblivious to the content being given during the mass.  But, I listened closely and tried to critique the priest’s public speaking skills.

The mass lasted about an hour and fifteen minutes and the priest’s reading was based on a story of a father and son (I added the link to the reading since they regularly post them on their website).  The priest was passionate about the reading, you could tell, because he raised the volume of his voice while reading and spoke confidently about the topic.  He was a very good story-teller and used very expressive words when talking.  I was able to picture parts of the reading he was talking about even though I had no clue what the story was about.

I also enjoyed the way the priest connected with his audience by bringing up the Packers.  This was before they unfortunately lost, so the comments were up beat and you could tell that he was a Packer fan at heart.   He used many facial expressions and kept an uplifting smile on his face throughout most of mass so he made me feel happy to be attending his service, even though I was obviously a new face to the church.

Overall, my experience at this church was a positive one.  Did I know what the service was about? No.  But did I enjoy listening to this man speak? Yes.  And I think that is one of the main reasons people attend church services, to listen to a passionate person speak about what they love and want to educate other people about.  I know that this is not the situation at every church service, not every priest is as passionate about their service so I was very glad I lucked out with listening to such a good priest.

This entry was posted in Lessons from a real world speech and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Saturday Night Church Service

  1. ChangWooUWSP says:

    Did you talk about your assignments with your aunt and uncle? I am glad that you could relate some knowledge gained in your class.

Leave a Reply

